Praxisgemeinschaft für Zelltherapie Duderstadt GmbH & Co. KG
Loading…

TOM and REM

In recent years hardly any other area of medicine has experienced such a gain in knowledge as cell biology.

With increasing understanding of cellular processes, researchers are now able to more intensively pursue the goal of using human cells as tools for the therapy of a broad range of diseases.

Our health depends decisively upon having a balanced immune system. The absence of or excessive immune responses can hinder successful therapy and lead to chronic inflammatory reactions or diseases of the autoimmune system. In this connection Professor Fändrich of the University of Kiel has developed two cell products from monocytic cells of the immune system in order to restore this balance.

TOM

So-called tolerogenic macrophages, known in short form as TOM, have been found to successfully alleviate excessive immune responses by B- and T-cells, for example dermatosclerosis, vasculitis such as Wegner's disease, Sjörgren syndrome, lupus erythematosus, diabetes mellitus, and ulcerative colitis in clinical therapy testing and for tolerance reduction following live allogenous kidney transplants.

REM

Regenerative macrophages are characterised by their anti-inflammatory effect and their high morphological plasticity. Due to the release of growth factors they can promote the formation of new vessels. This property has already been successfully tested with coronary hypoperfusion and in patients with arterial occlusions in Stage III and IV. Furthermore, they find clinical use for the therapy of different neuro-degenerative diseases, such as Parkinson's disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and Alzheimer's disease.

Praxisgemeinschaft für Zelltherapie Duderstadt GmbH & Co. KG
Loading…

TOM und REM

Kaum ein Bereich in der Medizin hat in den letzten Jahren so einen Wissenszuwachs zu verzeichnen wie die Zellbiologie.

Mit zunehmendem Verständnis zellulärer Vorgänge verfolgen Wissenschaftler daher intensiver das Ziel, sich menschliche Zellen als Werkzeuge zur Therapie verschiedenster Erkrankungen zu Nutzen zu machen.

Die Gesundheit des Menschen hängt in entscheidendem Maße von einem ausgewogenen Immunsystem mit ab. Ausbleibende oder überschießende Immunantworten können eine erfolgreiche Krankheitsbekämpfung verhindern und zu chronischen Entzündungsreaktionen oder Autoimmunerkrankungen führen. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden von den Biologen in Zusammenarbeit mit den wissenschaftlich tätigen Kollegen der Praxisgemeinschaft aus monozytären Zellen des Immunsystems  zwei Zellprodukte entwickelt, um ein solches Ungleichgewicht wieder ins Lot zu bringen.

TOM

Die sogenannten toleranzinduzierenden Makrophagen, kurz TOM, sollen überschießende Immunantworten durch B- und T-Zellen mildern. Sie wurden bei Autoimmunerkrankungen wie der Sklerodermie, Vaskulitiden wie dem Morbus Wegner, dem Sjörgren-Syndrom, Lupus erythematodes, dem Diabetes mellitus und der Collitis ulcerosa in klinischen Heilversuchen und zur Toleranzinduktion nach allogener Nierenlebendtransplantation erfolgreich eingesetzt.

REM

Die regenerativen Makrophagen zeichnen sich durch ihre antientzündliche Wirkung und hohe morphologische Plastizität aus. Durch Freisetzung von Wachstumsfaktoren können sie die Gefäßneubildung fördern. Diese Eigenschaft wurde schon erfolgreich bei der koronaren Minderdurchblutung oder bei Patienten mit arterieller Verschlusskrankheit im Stadium III und IV unter Beweis gestellt. Darüber hinaus werden sie zur Behandlung unterschiedlicher neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen wie Morbus Parkinson, der amyotrophen Lateralsklerose und Morbus Alzheimer klinisch eingesetzt.